CONFERENCE PROGRAM AND AGENDA

A conference for scholars and activists committed to emancipatory politics

and ideas.

Registration is freeSign up to attend the whole conference or individual panels


 

MONDAY 11th JANUARY

Welcome and Introduction

8:00am California / 10:00am Madison / 12:00 noon Montevideo / 4:00pm London / 5:00pm Amsterdam


SESSION 1
Constructing a New Politics for the 21st Century

8:30am-10:30 California / 10:30am-12:30pm Madison / 12:30-2:30pm Montevideo / 4:30-6:30pm London / 5:30-7:30pm Amsterdam

  • Brian Ashley and Daniel Chavez

  • Gar Alperovitz

  • Joel Rogers

 

SESSION 2
Democratic Socialism, Feminism and Intersectional Politics
10:45am-12:25pm California / 12:45-2:25pm Madison / 2:45-4:25pm Montevideo / 6:45-8:25pm London / 7:45-9:25pm Amsterdam

  • Tithi Bhattacharya:

  • Lilian Ciliberti and Gina Vargas:

 

TUESDAY 12th JANUARY


SESSION 3

The Strategic Challenges of (Re)Building Socialist Organization in the Heart of Empire

8:30am-10:30 California / 10:30am-12:30pm Madison / 12:30-2:30pm Montevideo / 4:30-6:30pm London / 5:30-7:30pm Amsterdam

  • Andy Sernatinger

  • Patrick Barrett:

  • Hillary Wainwright

 

SESSION 4

Rethinking the Promises and Pitfalls of Democratic Socialism

10:45am-12:45pm California / 12:45-2:45pm Madison / 2:45-4:45pm Montevideo / 6:45-8:45pm London / 7:45-9:45pm Amsterdam

  • Juan Carlos Monedero

  • Mabel Thwaites Rey and Hernán Ouviña

  • Daniel Jadue

 

WEDNESDAY 13th JANUARY


SESSION 5

The Crisis of the Capitalist State and the Democratic

Socialist Response
8:30am-10:30 California / 10:30am-12:30pm Madison / 1:30-3:30pm Montevideo / 4:30-6:30pm London / 5:30-7:30pm Amsterdam

  • Lucio Oliver

  • Jeff Webber

  • Jorge Viaña

  • Costas Lapavitsas and Spyros Marchetos

 

SESSION 6

From the Streets to the State, and Back Again:

Social Movements and Democratic Socialism

10:45am-12:45pm California / 12:45-2:45pm Madison / 3:45-4:45pm Montevideo / 6:45-8:45pm London / 7:45-9:45pm Amsterdam

  • Gonzalo Berrón

  • Frances Fox Piven

  • Barbara Ransby

  • Agnes Gagye

 

THURSDAY 14th JANUARY

SESSION 7

Left Populism and Democratic Socialism:

A New Kind of Politics? A New Type of Party?
8:30am-10:30 California / 10:30am-12:30pm Madison / 1:30-3:30pm Montevideo / 4:30-6:30pm London / 5:30-7:30pm Amsterdam

  • Daniele Obono:

  • Pete Ramand and James Foley

  • Paolo Gerbaudo

  • Constanza Moreira

 

SESSION 8
Radical Economics Reborn?

Evaluating the Political Economy of the New Left

0:45am-12:45pm California / 12:45-2:45pm Madison / 3:45-5:45pm Montevideo / 6:45-8:45pm London / 7:45-9:45pm Amsterdam

  • James Meadway

  • Mike McCarthy

  • Camila Piñeiro Harnecker:

 

FRIDAY 15th JANUARY

 

SESSION 9

Transforming and Democratizing the State From Top to Bottom
8:30am-10:30 California / 10:30am-12:30pm Madison / 1:30-3:30pm Montevideo / 4:30-6:30pm London / 5:30-7:30pm Amsterdam

  • Catarina Principe

  • Gabriel Hetland

  • Erick Palomares

  • Kali Akuno
     

SESSION 10

Ecosocialist Strategies to Save the Planet

10:45am-12:45pm California / 12:45-2:45pm Madison / 3:45-5:45pm Montevideo / 6:45-8:45pm London / 7:45-9:45pm Amsterdam

  • Sean Sweeney

  • Vedran Horvat:

  • Lala Peñaranda

 

Closing Remarks

12:45-1:15pm California / 2:45-3:15pm Madison / 5:45-6:15pm Montevideo / 8:45-9:15pm London / 9:45-10:15pm Amsterdam